Beach Access to the left of 16 Whelk Street! 145 feet to the beach!
Free Activities Included! Play a round of golf, explore Hilton Head on bicycle and even bring out your inner kid with a round of putt-putt golf! To enhance your vacation experience, Vacation Homes of Hilton Head includes our signature Southern Hospitality Pass, which means all of the above activities are FREE. Contact us today to learn more about the free fun included with this Vacation Homes of Hilton Head rental! (1 pass for each activity per group, passes expire daily. 1 bicycle per reservation).
12 Whelk Street, Hilton Head, SC
First Floor: Kitchen Area (Bar seating for two), Living Area (Sleeper Sofa), Dining Area (Seating for ten), Two Balconies, TV
Bedroom 1: First Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Shared, Walk-in Shower), Balcony (Private)
Second Floor: Two Bedrooms, Laundry Room (HE Washer/Dryer, Iron/Board)
Bedroom 2: Second Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in Shower), Balcony (Private)
Bedroom 3: Second Floor, Master, King Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower, Jacuzzi Tub), Balconies (2-Private)
Bedroom 4: Third Floor, Twin/ Full Bunk Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower), Balcony (Private)
Bedroom 5: Third Floor, Master, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower, Jacuzzi Tub), Balconies (2-Private)
Ground Level: Two Car Garage (Total Parking: 4 Cars), Foosball Table, Ping Pong Table, Elevator, Entrance to Pool, Gas Grill (Propane Included), Lounge Chairs and Seating.
ELEVATOR DIMENSIONS: 34" by 34"
NOTE: Our properties and elevators are not ADA compliant.
POOL DIMENSIONS: 20' by 8' (not heatable)
NOTE: We do not provide any Beach Towels or Equipment
CANCELLATION POLICY: See rental agreement for more information or contact Vacation Homes of Hilton Head with any questions. If you are booking on a third party site such as VRBO or Expedia, you are subject to Vacation Homes of Hilton Head's cancellation policy. NOTE: Guests without travel insurance will not receive a refund or reimbursement for weather, hurricanes, mandatory and/ or voluntary evacuations, pandemics, etc. Please contact us for questions regarding coverage and to purchase a protection plan. Travel Insurance must be paid full upon purchase.
PAYMENT SCHEDULE: To secure a reservation, we require a 50% deposit upfront and the balance payment due thirty days prior to arrival via Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express card. Photo copies of both the reservation holders Driver's License and Credit Card will be required.
- Burkes Beach
- Ping Pong Table
- Air Conditioning
- Clothes Dryer
- Iron & Board
- Keyless Entry
- Linens Provided
- Living Room
- Towels Provided
- Washing Machine
- Keurig Coffee Maker
- Near The Ocean
- Four Car Maximum
- Gas Grill
- Outdoor Shower
- Private Beach Access
- Private Pool
- children welcome
- pets not allowed
- Beach View
- Ocean View
The house is very beautiful and our family really enjoyed our stay. It is a very large town house! Furniture is updated and comfortable. The elevator is a plus to have as there are lots of steps. The kitchen was well equipped, another fridge on the ground floor would be a nice addition. Lots of room. Bedrooms were very nice with comfortable beds. The house was very clean. The pool is small but it provided a nice spot to cool off. They have a grill but we didn’t use. The one garage area was nicely converted into a game room with ping pong and foos ball which made it fun for the kids. It was a pleasure working with Vacation Homes of Hilton Head.
Hello, we are so grateful for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback from your stay at 12 Whelk St. We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Head again soon!Posted: 7/25/2023
Our family rented this amazing home this June! We had such a great time, the home is so very clean and spacious. Great for a large family like ours! We enjoyed the pool, ping-pong table in the garage, and great back deck area. The location is PERFECT! You definitely feel like you are renting an ocean front home as this property is SO close to the beach! It took us 1 minute to walk from the home to the beach, so great when you have little kids. We will most definitely be back!
Hello, we are so grateful for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback from your stay at 12 Whelk Street. We are glad you enjoyed the pool, ping-pong, and the amazing back deck area. We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Head again soon!Posted: 6/30/2023
Great property and location that doesn't come with as great of a price sticker as a true oceanfront. Condition of some doors/locks/hardware and could use some updates or a handyman to resolve. Otherwise great property for a family environment. Would be great to have ramp access to beach boardwalk as currently stairs and partial platform is the means of access to the beach. If it could be extended and ramps on both sides, it would be good for carts/stroller access.
Very nicely appointed, and we loved the game cabinet!
Hello, Miriam! Thank you for the awesome review. We look forward to hosting you and your family again very soon!
House was large enough to handle our 6 adults and 5 kids quite easily. Large round table was nice for meals. Elevator was useful for loading and unloading, but we didn’t use it daily as it was pretty slow. Very convenient to the beach which was not the least bit overcrowded. Management was quick to respond to all issues.
Hello, Jim, Thank you so much for your five star review! We look forward to hosting you and your family back here again very soon!
Our stay in Hilton Head Island was a great experience! Vacation Homes of Hilton Head has top notch customer service & the house we stayed in was beautiful! Two families (4 adults and 4 kids) fit very comfortably in this house. It was a great property, and a very short walk to the beach. We appreciated the large refrigerator and kitchen/dining/living room space, and ample bed/bath space too! There are plenty of things to do at the house if needing a break from the beach (ping pong, cornhole, tons of board games, and a pool for cooling off in). While there were a few beach supplies (3 chairs and a few toys), you may have to bring or buy extras. Overall, a great property and would stay again!
We really appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed this beautiful home as much as we enjoy taking care of it. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again! Hurry back!
It was an awesome experience we thoroughly enjoyed the rental, we are looking at renting it again
Hi, Priscilla! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the great review and we look forward to hosting your stay again very soon!
That's right! Mom's Dream!! 12 Whelk is a beautiful house for our family on Hilton Head Island. It was decorated nicely, was very clean, and very close to the beach! Enjoyed the pool every day and had a great view of the ocean even though it is close to the house behind it. There was an issue with the cable and internet that was taken of by Brittney at Vacation Homes of HH.
Thank you so much for the review Brian! We are so happy we were able to host your stay and that Brittany was such a big help! We look forward to your next visit!!
We had plans to celebrate my cousin's birthday at the beach with a few couples. It ended up that it was only going to be two couples with kids. This house is massive and we each got our own floor, which was really nice. With the two garages, it was easy to store all our beach supplies. The swimming pool was refreshing and tucked in behind the house, it was nice that there was minimal sun. The walk to the beach was just fine since we were so close. I will definitely be back!
Thank you so much for the review Rebecca! We are so thrilled we were able to host your cousins' birthday and your group stay! We are so happy to hear the house was such a perfect fit and hope to host your group again soon!
Great location. Nicely furnished. Close to the beach. Easy access. Numerous balconies wth ocean views. Floor plan is nicely laid out. Beautiful master suite.
Thank you for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed this home and its location! This is a hidden gem in the Burkes Beach area and we hope to have you back again soon!
12 Whelk was another great rental managed by VHHH (we’ve stayed in 3). The location was great with a only short walk to the beach down a private pathway. The home was spacious and clean and the multi levels allowed for privacy. We loved the many balconies that were off of every room.
And, the elevators were especially helpful with luggage!
Overall great place and wonderful management company.
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are so happy to have had your group back in another one of our great homes! This home is one of our favorites with the easy beach access and layout and we are glad you enjoyed those perks as well. We can't wait to host your next stay!
We couldn't make our week due to a legal battle for our foster son and we were not allowed to take him. It was unfair to leave a 4.5 yr old with strangers during our fun week. We only were given $460 refund..... I bet it would've been a fun trip otherwise
Thank you for the review Ronald. I truly wish we could have done more however you never notified VHHH of your situation or that you were not planning on coming. We were only made away when our Guest Ambassador made the arrival call Aug 14 as you were set to arrive the 15th. Again I truly wish we could have done more to help but we were given no time to do so. I do hope you will contact our Reservation Manager the next time you wish to book a stay on HH as she is fully aware of the situation and ready to help.
Such a comfortable space and a short walk to the beach. Made it easy to relax and enjoy and fun weekend away.
Thank you for the review Nomi! We are so happy you enjoyed this home and its easy location to the beach! We hope to host your next stay here on HH very soon!
We recently stayed at 12 Whelk street and it was such absolutely perfect! When we got there the AC unit was not working, i made one quick phone call and within the hour everything was fixed!! The location was perfect. Amazing views from every room.
Thank you Lacey for your review. I'm glad that we could fix the AC issue promptly so you could start enjoying your vacation and that you enjoyed the great views and close proximity to the beach!
Second time staying at this house. Plenty of room (10 people) and close to the beach. Enjoyed the pool after leaving the beach. Grilled out every night on the Gas grill and kitchen was well equipped. Easy check in/out. Customer service was great.
Thank you for the kind words, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Nice visit to Hilton Head. First time staying in that area of Hilton Head after staying at SeaPines and North Forest beaches for 20 years. Awesome areas to walk to the park or the beach.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the area so much after staying near Sea Pines. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Had a wonderful stay here with my family. Very comfortable. Great bedrooms, bathrooms and balconies. Excellent location! Beach was a very easy walk. Kitchen was so well equipped! Had everything we could possibly need and more. Small pool if that's what you're looking for. A few minor complaints...bedroom doors didn't all lock, several light bulbs were out, garage door didn't always open.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the minor issues which I will pass along to my facilities manager to address right away. We hope to have you back very soon!
The house was very nice and the location was fantastic. It could use some updates as there were many broken items such as drawers in bedrooms and some lighting. We also had some issues with the garage door closing. The main problem was no where to store food as all cabinets were filled with dishes and there was no pantry so we had to leave alot if food on countertops. I did read that in previous reviews so you think they would have come up with a solution.
Hi Jacquelyn, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. We did not receive any phone calls from you or your party. If you called us, we would have had these issues resolved during your stay. Keep in mind that renters can be tough on properties and they tend to show more wear and tear later in the season towards the end of summer. We hope to see you again next year!
The house was perfect for our group (2 families of 4 and the grandparents). Lots of space, clean, great pool and easy beach access! We had a couple uncontrollable issues pop up and the Property Management team took care of them immediately and were very friendly. We will definitely be looking to come back to 12 Whelk Street again!
Hi Michelle, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. We are happy that we could be of assistance and we hope to have you all again next year!
This house has a very nice layout and is close to the beach. It is very well maintained, the best we have stayed in. They layout of the house is great. One bedroom off the kitchen and then 2 bedrooms on the next to floors. There were 2 things we didn’t like. One the balconies while plenty where not big enough to hold all of us at once. That is something we have enjoyed in the past. The other thing we didn’t like was the lack of a pantry so we had to put our food on the counter which then limited our counter space. If they replaced the one piece of furniture in the kitchen with something more functional it would be great. This house is close to the park also. A piece of advice ...most homes we have stayed at in the past had spices and beach things left by previous occupants. That isn’t allowed in HH. They have to throw it all away.
Hi Lori, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. As far as your recommendations we will pass them along to the owners and property manager to consider. We hope to have you all again soon!
We had plenty of room. The house was in excellent condition. Everyone that was will this had a great time. We would rent this house again.
Hi Windle, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. We hope to have you all again soon!
We had a fantastic time here! This house was perfect for our needs - 6 adults and 4 children under 7. The proximity to the beach was the highlight of our stay. There were a few small issues that were quickly addressed by the mgt. company. All in all we would definitely rent this home again!
Hi Laura, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. We are happy that we could be of assistance and we hope to have you all again soon!
Overall I was impressed with the propert amenities and definately location. I was not impressed with the construction workers from the neighboring property pounding on their plastic buckets at 7 am sat morning..if I wanted to see stomp I would have bought a ticket
Hi Scott, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. Unfortunately, as mentioned in your rental agreement, we can only guarantee that there will be no construction on any properties that we manage. We cannot guarantee that there will not be construction on any of the neighboring homes or communities. Again, we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you again in the future
This was the best birthday ever! The house was completely amazing! Better than the pictures. They even put a bottle of wine in the house to wish me happy birthday! So amazing! I will be back!!
Hi Chanice, thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We are also glad to hear that you had a great time celebrating your birthday with us. We hope to have you again next year!
We loved our stay at 12 Whelk st! This house was in the perfect location being steps from the beach and not far from restaurants and shops. The house had plenty of space and everything we needed to cook and the grill was a great bonus. The only negative was that it was not very clean, and we found crackers crumbs all over one of the beds and many dishes needed to be washed before use. But, overall our stay was perfect and we would recommend and return to this house!
Hi Lindsay, thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We did not receive any phone calls from you or your party. If you called us, we would have had the cleaners back out to the property. We can't wait to have you again!
Our family, 8 adults and 3 children, spent a week at this home. It's a beautiful large house and looks as it does in the pictures. A few negatives: When you pay this large amount for a rental you expect the home to be ready at 4pm. The cleaning team was there till nearly 5:30. While they did a good job, we have a "crawler" and quickly noticed how dirty her hands and feet were after crawling on the main floor. The main balcony off the living area, I believe advertised as a gathering place, had only a small table and 2 chairs, and while it had a slight ocean view and you could at times hear the ocean, the next house's a/c units are very close and for a lot of the time that's what you hear on that balcony. The countertops in the kitchen not in great shape. Comments: While I've seen complaints about the pool size, it worked fine for us and looking around, no one else has a larger pool in that area. The pool light does not work. We were hesitant to use the elevator, although it worked fine. There are a lot of steps in this house. The best view, as said by others, is from the kids bedroom which is unfortunate but not anything that could be changed. The beach is easy access but you do have to trudge through quite a bit of deep sand before reaching the firm sand area. I think we all loved that there were so many balconies, a bit of privacy for each bedroom. All in all we had a great week here, we stayed mainly in this area where none of us had really been before. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Hi Dennis, thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We must agree that the property has wonderful views from the balconies and each bedroom is pretty private. Unfortunately, sometimes properties may not be ready right at 4. WE do try our best to accommodate guests in this event. We did allow you to move your luggage in when you arrived. The cleaners were done just a few minutes after. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit!
This was a great experience for my family. Nice property and location. Short walk to the beach. The only time we had a concern was when we couldn't get enough hot water for the jacuzzi tub. After calling management a plumber was sent out and both hot water heaters were replaced. Problem solved. We plan to go back in the future.
Hi Robert, we are glad to hear that you had a great experience with us! Glad to hear that the water issues were resolved during your stay. We hope to see you soon for your next visit!
It was our first time visiting Hilton Head, and we loved the area. The home was beautiful & did accommodate our family. I was a little disappointed that the view was not what the photos depicted because they were taken prior to some new homes being built. The home location felt a little cramped & it lacked a lot of privacy because of the homes being so close together. There were a few issues with the elevator & air conditioning. But the property management was very quick to fix the problems. The home was clean, but it could use a real deep cleaning. We did enjoy our time at Hilton Head. The beach was beautiful and the homes in the area were gorgeous. It was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay.
Hi Shelia, Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that 12 Whelk Street met all of your families needs. The video that you saw was an older video that had been posted on YouTube prior to the home next door being built. Our website is going to always provide the most up to date information. We posted photos throughout the whole construction process and photos were available to guests prior to booking the home. Again, we are happy that overall you all enjoyed your time here in Hilton Head and we would love to host you again on your return visit.
We had a wonderful time at the 12 Whelk Drive location. The five bedroom, five bath house was just want we needed for our family. The house was clean and well kept (though they were still cleaning it when we arrived at 4:20 and didn't leave until after 5:00). Everything worked well. A seat on one of the toilets was broke, but they came and replaced it right away. Working with the people at Vacation Homes was wonderful; unlike some other places we have rented. The beach was just a short walk out the front door and down a pathway. The beach was wonderful, not very crowded. This property has two garages which was great for storing all the beach stuff. The pool is very small, but we had small children, so no problem for us. If you had older children or teenagers, I'm afraid it would be too small. The only other complaint would be the house that we had to walk by going to the beach was under construction and they had dumpsters, trucks, trailers and port-a-potty all setting in the driveway and very hard getting our vehicles in and out some days. Also, going to the beach was trying on days getting around equipment they would leave in the way. If the construction had not been going on, it would have been a 5 star stay!!! Would definitely stay here again if every in the area!!!
Hi Linda, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you had some inconveniences during your stay. We cannot guarantee that there won't be any construction going on the area but we can guarantee that there won't be any construction going on at any of our properties during your stay. The cleaners were running a bit behind time as the previous renters left the property a bit more dirty than usual. The cleaners wanted to ensure that the house was cleaned thoroughly but we did allow for you to move your things in at 4:00pm as cleaners were close to finished. Again, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it and we hope to have you again soon!
This home exceeded our expectations! Clean, perfect location, roomy, and beds were comfortable. Our group would definitely stay again
Hi Peter, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that the home exceeded your expectations and we would love to have you all again on your next visit.
Although we had a wonderful time, the construction was not complete next door and they started before 8 every day. We had to pull nails from the pool before the kids could get in and we had to check it everyday. The location had easy access to the beach and the house is very nice but needed some work.
Hi Debbie, We do make all renters aware that there is ongoing construction next door to the home and for that reason we discounted the rates for the season. The construction is due to be completed soon and we do have many other beautiful properties that are available to you for rental. We'd like to make your next stay a more pleasurable one so feel free to contact us directly and we'd be more than happy to assist you on your next visit. We do hope to have you again in the future.
Had a great time close to the ocean. Great place to stay with our family.
Hi Bryant, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again soon!
Our family had a great vacation. We enjoyed our stay. The house was great. We enjoyed the pool area and access to the beach. The views from the house are amazing.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! 12 Whelk Street definitely has AMAZING ocean views and is a gorgeous property. You are now entitled to 5% OFF all future reservations with us as a repeat guest. We hope to host you again next summer!
Great location. Nice and quiet, close to the beach
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are now considered a repeat renter for life and will now receive 5% OFF all future reservations! We hope to have you again next summer!
Our stay was for our 40th anniversary and we had our children and grandchildren stay with us. The location was fantastic. The unit itself was fabulous. We were all impressed with the unit. The only negatives were that one tub was not usable and a balcony door handle was broken so you could not sit on the balcony to watch the ocean.
Thank you so much for the review! Both of these maintenance items have been adressed and we look forward to you coming back to Hilton Head!
This was our first vacation in a house, and at Hilton head; and it was wonderful. The house was spacious and beautiful. The pool was great for the kids, and the distance to the ocean was great. The price was great for the house and location. We will be doing this again!
Thank you for your review!
Home is just steps from the beach and the views are great. Second row price for almost beachfront accomodations. The only complaint that I had was that the pool was a little small. Very small if you had several guests. Other than that we loved it!
Thank you for your review!
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to working with you in the future...