Free Activities Included! Play a round of golf, explore Hilton Head on bicycle and even bring out your inner kid with a round of putt-putt golf! To enhance your vacation experience, Vacation Homes of Hilton Head includes our signature Southern Hospitality Pass, which means all of the above activities are FREE. Contact us today to learn more about the free fun included with this Vacation Homes of Hilton Head rental! (1 pass for each activity per group, passes expire daily. 1 bicycle per reservation).
13 Moonshell Road, Hilton Head, SC
First Floor: Kitchen, Living, Dining Area (table seats 8 and bar seats 2), TV
Bedroom 1: First Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Shared, Shower/ Tub Combo)
Bedroom 2: First Floor, Master, King Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in Shower, Tub)
Second Floor: Living Area, TV
Nook: Second Floor, Twin Bed, Trundle Bed
Bedroom 3: Second Floor, Two Queen Beds, TV, Bath (Shared, Walk-in Shower)
Bedroom 4: Second Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Shared, Walk-in Shower)
Ground Level: Two Car Garage (Total Parking: 6 Cars), Game Room (Darts/ Air Hockey), Pool Bar
POOL DIMENSIONS: 11' by 20'
NOTE: The spa in the photos is not a hot tub. There is no pool/spa heat available in this property.
NOTE: We do not provide any Beach Towels or Equipment.
CANCELLATION POLICY: See rental agreement for more information or contact Vacation Homes of Hilton Head with any questions. If you are booking on a third party site such as VRBO or Expedia, you are subject to Vacation Homes of Hilton Head's cancellation policy. NOTE: Guests without travel insurance will not receive a refund or reimbursement for weather, hurricanes, mandatory and/ or voluntary evacuations, pandemics, etc. Please contact us for questions regarding coverage and to purchase a protection plan. Travel Insurance must be paid full upon purchase.
PAYMENT SCHEDULE: To secure a reservation, we require a 50% deposit upfront and the balance payment due thirty days prior to arrival via Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express card. Photo copies of both the reservation holders Driver's License and Credit Card will be required.
- Folly Field Beach
- Game Room
- Air Conditioning
- Clothes Dryer
- Iron & Board
- Keyless Entry
- Linens Provided
- Living Room
- Towels Provided
- Washing Machine
- Near The Ocean
- Four Car Maximum
- Gas Grill
- Outdoor Shower
- Private Pool
- children welcome
- pets not allowed
We’ve been staying here for the last 3 years and it’s been the best family vacation house. We plan to stay here every year if possible. Perfect setup with pool and easy access to beach.
Hello, it is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Hilton Head. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is always the goal of our staff to provide the best service to our guests. Thank you again for making Vacation Homes of Hilton Head your home away from home!Posted: 8/19/2023
This was our first stay at 13 Moonshell and we were very impressed. Great location with a short walk to the beach gate. The actual path could use some work but not sure that is your problem. The size of the pool is great and the bar/eating area are perfect. Having two refrigerators was a plus. Wonderful selection of pots and pans and utensils. The clothes dryer could use an update as well as bed in second floor master. A king there and on the first floor should be considered. TV channel selection was sketchy but we were prepared for that from other reviews and plan on buying ice. As I began this review this property was unbelievably clean! There is plenty of room and closet space. We hope to be back! Wonderful property!
Hello Christine, Thank you for staying with Vacation Homes of Hilton Head and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to accommodating you in the future!
We rent this beautiful home every year. It is the perfect location for our family. Steps to the beach and a short drive to all of HHI hot spots. The pool area is one of the largest in the area. 13 Moonshell has become a family tradition we look forward to every July. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.
Hello Jenny, it is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Hilton Head. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We agree that 13 Moonshell Road is the perfect home to spend your time on Hilton Head. Hope to see you again next year.
Our family enjoyed our stay in this spacious home!
There was room for all 6 of us. With only a short walk to the beach,
we could be there in minutes! The pool was perfect for swims after lunch and into the evening. Definitely would stay here again!
Hello Amy, we are so grateful for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback from your stay at 13 Moonshell Road. We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Head again soon!
Perfect house for our annual family vacation. Plenty of room , a great pool and game room. The location was great.
Thank you Sandra for the awesome review! We agree that 13 Moonshell Road is the perfect house to spend your time on Hilton Head. Hope to see you again next year.
Always a wonderful stay in this clean and cozy home! 13 Moonshell is steps from the beach and has the best of everything for everyone! Thank you to the owners for sharing your home and Vacation Homes of Hilton Head for your professional service. Already booked for 2023!
We're so excited to have you back! Thank you for the awesome review!
The house was great except for the smell of cat urine at the front door. The Home accommodated 10 of us and we were happy with everything except the smell.
Hi, Ellen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review this home. We apologize for issue but we're happy to say that it looks like when you reported the issue, we were able to get this resolved quickly. We were told there was a feral cat in the neighborhood which has since been relocated. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
We had an excellent stay at 13 moonshell. We found the location to be very close to everywhere we went. Unlike the large palmetto/sea pines neighborhoods, it only takes a minute to get on to the main road from this home.
The beach was very close (2 minute walk to gate, then 4-5 minutes to beach if dragging a wagon).
The house its self was clean and nice. The kitchen was well stocked. If i had to suggest some items for management to add it would be hot mitts/pads and Tupperware. Having two refrigerators is a huge plus. The ice machine worked but was so slow that we ended up having to buy several bags of ice. thankfully the extra fridge was able to accommodate this.
The pool was perfect for kids of all ages and the outdoor seating/dining was perfect for our family.
The only real complaint we had about the stay was the comfort of the beds. Besides the master (which I slept in and thought was ok) the adults in my group said the beds they slept in were very uncomfortable. could just be a preference thing, but they did say it made it hard for them to sleep.
Overall a great place and would highly recommend. A few minor upgrades in the beds/linens and some of the kitchen tools would help to push this place overt the top. A GREAT value for the price we paid.
Thank you so much for the 5 star review, Trevor! We look forward to hosting you when you return back to the Island, hopefully very soon! Cheers!
We were totally satisfied with the home. It was large enough for together time yet offered areas where you could be alone, if needed. The check-in/ check-out process was slick. Only issue was main floor front bedroom temperature was much warmer than rest of home. Easy walk to beach and great location on island- easy access to restaurants and shopping!
Hello, Gela! Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience and give us a five star review! We thrilled to hear you enjoyed this beautiful home as much as we enjoy taking care of it. We look forward to having you back the next time you visit the Island! Cheers!
The home was beautiful and spacious. I would suggest new pots and pans. The stat was great.
Thank you, Latoya for your kind words and feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again very soon.
Great clean house, nice yard, comfortable pool deck, close to beach.
Hi, Joi! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us and loved the home as much as we do! We are looking forward to hosting you again very soon!
Everything was good except the TVS. Cable selection was horrible. Had to have someone come out to fix it but still terrible selection of channels. Didnt have that problem last year when we stayed there.
Thank you for the review David. We will be sure to get the cable company out to figure out what is going on and see what we can do about the channel selection!
We had a great week at 13 Moonshell. The pool was the perfect cool down spot after a day on the beach. The walk to the beach is so easy and close. We loved everything about the house except the cable channel offerings. The TV had 2 remotes and 2 cable boxes and we were very limited on channels. Other than that, we had a great stay.
Shelley, thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback , as we are always looking to improve. We hope to have you back again!
Got last minute cancelled by VRBO (scumsbags) and stumbled into this place ... awesome upgrade and close to everything. This place is 5 star great but couldve gotten a 5+++ with a heater optional jacuzzi
Thank you so much for the review Jeff! We are so happy we could help and save your stay to HHI! A heater for the pool and spa is something the owner is currently looking into!
Our family had a wonderful time and would have only made one change...heating the pool. The house layout is great for multiple families. The beach is easily accessible and the outdoor shower/foot rinse was perfect. The upstairs rooms and recreation area in the basement were very popular with our kids. The pool was not heated so it was difficult for adults to enjoy. All in all, a great home and we will be back!
Thank you for the review Jim! A pool heater is something we will be sure to discuss with the owners as this home currently does not have one but as you stated could have been a great addition! We look forward to having you back again in the future!
Chris, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed this home and we can't wait to host your next stay!
Thank you for the review William!
If the pool can be heated at an additional cost that would be great.
Thank you for the review Diane. Installing a pool heater is a definitely a suggestion we will address with the owner!
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home on Moonshell Road. It was a quick and easy walk (or bike ride) to the public beach. The pool and the pool side bar was a perfect relaxing spot to enjoy when we weren't out enjoying the many things to do in Hilton Head. We had 6 people in our family attend this annual trip this year (we usually have between 10-12, but with COVID-19, travel wasn't possible for some). The house felt clean and safe over a resort, and we enjoyed how much space we had. We would definitely come again (hopefully next year with the rest of our family as there was PLENTY of room!) Thank you!
Gary, thank you so much for the review. We love hearing that you enjoyed this home and the location so much! We look forward to having your whole family back again next year!
Once again our stay at 13 Moonshell was perfect. This was our 4th year renting the home and it has become a family tradition for us. Our kids even call this "our house" throughout the year. It has everything necessary for a Hilton Head Family getaway. Very close to the beach, beautiful pool (with awesome bar) and plenty of comfortable sleeping space. We are already booked for next summer!! We love this house so miuch that if it were to be put on the market we would jump at the opportunity to buy it!
Thank you for the kind words, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Beautiful home! Location perfect!
Thank you for the kind words about our home. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Head real soon.
Great house for our large family. Family loved spending time at the pool and the beach was an easy walk from home. Master Suite is excellent with a superb bathroom/closet. Lot of outdoor space and we were able to have a nice outdoor family barbecue. Working with rental company was easily our best vacation experience. Very attentive to some minor things that came up. Would rent this property again because of the actual rental and the way we treated by Vacation Homes.
Hi Scott, thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that the layout worked well for your entire group. We are happy that we could be of assistance and we hope to have you all again next year!
We love Moonshell 13! We have stayed at this home multiple different times. It is a short walk to the beach and has a wonderful pool with a fenced in backyard. The hot tub was not working during this stay which was a downfall.
Hi Courtney, thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We do not advertise spa heat at this property since it has been disabled per owner request so spa heat is not an option. In the future, if you have any questiona bout the property, feel free to call us here at the office. We hope to see you again next year!
13 Moonshell is a great house! It has lots of bright open space and is just a short walk to the beach. In fact, you can see the entrance to the beach from the front yard. It does have some wear and tear. It could use some paint touch ups. especially the porch railings. Also, if you like to cook while on vacation, the kitchen is not well equipped. It also could use a good spring cleaning. All that being said, we loved the house and hope to rent it again next year. Another plus is the rental company. They are extremely customer oriented and anything that needs attention is done very quickly.
Hi Maggie, thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We have forwarded this information to the property manager of the home and will have everything taken care of. We are happy to hear that you were happy with our services. We can't wait to have you again!
We absolutely love this little gem near the ocean. We rent every summer and would rent again throughout the year if we could! Vacation Homes of hilton Head make the rental process a breeze.
Hi Jenny, thank you for writing us a review! We are glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you soon for your next trip!
The house is pretty perfect! Ideal location. The pool is great. Wonderful family house. Except ... the upstairs bathroom had a stench like there was a dead animal in the attic. The stench worsened during the week making the upstairs bathroom unusable and the upstairs bedrooms unpleasant. The management company sent out people but they were unable to do anything about the problem. We had a good week but it sure would have been much nicer without the smell!
Hi Laura, thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We are sorry that you experienced a bad odor for a portion of your stay. We sent out plumbers, exterminators, and maintenance but they were all unable to determine what the source of the odor was. However, I am happy to report that the odor is no longer present in the property. We hope to see you will consider renting this house next year.
Location and home were great. Rental company was all star.
Hi Pam, we are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the rental company provided you with great customer service! We hope to see you again soon!
The entire family had a wonderful time at 13 Moonshell Road. The house was lovely with a great pool for all to use. There was a slight "sour" odor in the upstairs bedroom...Also, there needs to be a few more kitchen accessories for families that cook while on vacation. But, overall, the house was great. The fenced in yard was another plus for our small dog and young children. The proximity to the beach was also a bonus!
Hi Pamela, Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed the home. The carpets in the home are currently scheduled to be professionally cleaned and deodorized on June 23td. We also do kitchen inventory twice a year so the kitchen will be fully stocked. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you again next year!
Overall it was very good and we enjoyed our time in Hilton Head.
Hi Don, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again soon!
Had a Gal’s weekend with 5 guests. This house is located close to the beach. Walking and Bike trails are very accessible. Many pluses BUT the negatives out way the positives. Nice Pool, Nice Appliances, Updated baths, Great
Space. Would have enjoyed Chairs for front porch. Some of the interior furnishing are truly in need of updating. Biggest Problem....Pet urine smell in All carpeted areas.
Hello Margaret, We are happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay. We did forward everything that you bought to our attention while you were occupying the home. The house has actually since undergone a deep clean which is very thorough in detail. We have also mentioned your concerns to the owner, however, we have never had any complaints about the furniture. We do still appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you again in the future.
We had a great spring break this year at 13 Moonshell Rd. The house is perfect, clean and in an excellent location. The house had everything we needed.
Hi Debra, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again soon!
We enjoyed our stay at this property, which was spacious, clean and conveniently located to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
Hi Frank, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate all of your positive feedback!
Hello Robert, It was an absolute pleasure working with you and we are happy that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your review and we hope to have you again soon!
Wonderful house and great location!
Hi Rhonda, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again on your next visit to Hilton Head!
The house is beautiful and a block to the beach. We stayed in the winter so couldn't swim, but the hot tub can be heated separately so we used that every day. The house is comfortable and has a ton of kitchen cabinet space. Would love to see some better pots and pans, looks like "non stick" and metal spatulas don't work well together. But otherwise it was beautiful!
Hi Michelle, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 13 Moonshell. We just recently completed kitchen inventory on all of our properties so worn/missing kitchen items will be replaced. We hope to have you again on your next trip to Hilton Head!
We rented this home the week of Christmas 2017. It was a cold week, so having a beautiful house to hang out in was great. There were 10 of us, 7 adults and 3 teens. Plus 2 small dogs. The house was a great size.
My rating for this house would be 4 1/2 stars (unfortunately not an option, hence 4 stars).
The reason for the deduction-
Game room was unusable. The air hockey table did not blow out enough air, so it was impossible to play. The darts were broken. My kids had been excited about using the game room, so we were disappointed.
This is not a 3 1/2 bath. There is no half bath. Having 10 people, we were hoping for that extra half bath.
I stayed in the bedroom upstairs with one queen bed. The tv in that room only plays dvds. We were not aware of that before we went. We didn't have dvds, and there weren't any in the house. I like watching tv at bedtime or in the morning, so that wasn't ideal. Would have liked to have known beforehand.
On the positive side-
Very close to Folly Field Beach. (a very nice beach!)
Fully fenced in yard.
Great pool and spa. We paid to heat the hot tub and even in the cold weather we had (30s,40s,50s some days/nights), we were able to enjoy the hot tub every day.
We had a problem with the alarm beeping the day of our arrival (Christmas Eve). The property rental manager made calls for us to get it fixed remotely. Appreciated her doing that for us on Christmas Eve, all without sounding a bit annoyed!
Overall, great house. If you were going in warm weather you would love it's proximity to the beach and you would love the pool.
We would rent this house again.
Hi Maureen, Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas holiday at 13 Moonshell Road. It is definitely a beautiful property and as you mentioned the location in Folly Field is just perfect with just a short walk to the beach. We have forwarded the information about the air hockey table and the dart board to the property manager of this home so it will be taken care of. There is a half bathroom that is located off of the pool area but it has been closed off temporarily as the septic system is extremely sensitive. We are happy to hear that Ashten was of assistance you on Christmas Eve as well. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We would love to have you all stay with us again on your next visit where you are entitled to a discount for being a repeat renter. Hope to see you again soon!
The house was beautiful and exactly as pictured/described. This was our first trip to Hilton Head so we were not really sure about the location or beach when we booked but were very happy with both when we arrived. The beach is a very short walk (just a couple of minutes) and the neighborhood was quiet. We were very thankful to have found such a nice house that was close to the beach, with a pool and that allowed us to bring our two dogs. We would definitely recommend the area, house and booking with Vacation Homes of Hilton Head. We enjoyed our stay very much and plan on returning next year!
Hi Julie, Thanks for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you again!
A couple of problems that should be addressed. Master Bedroom mattress should be replaced. Sagging badly and hurts your back. Spray for spiders and cockroaches.
Hello Rob, We haven't had any complaints about the mattress at all from previous guests. We will forward this information to the owner. We didn't hear from you during your stay so we weren't aware that you had any issues. All of our properties are set up for routine pest control and are sprayed bi-monthly. We do hope to have you again on your next visit to Hilton Head.
We stayed at 13 Moonshell with my kids and my in-laws and had a great experience! Loved that it was an easy, one block walk to a more private beach. Wonderful pool in the backyard. The house itself was terrific with a big kitchen and pretty much anything you could want to cook, grill or spend time there. Would highly, highly recommend staying here.
Josh, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you all again soon!
We enjoyed our stay. We have rented this house for the last several years and have noticed that there are some repairs that need to be done.
Hi Pam, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The property is very well maintained. If you want to give us further details on recommendations feel free to contact our office. We do hope to have you again next year!
This home could t have been more perfect for our family vacation. It was extremely clean and cozy for our large group. The proximity to the beach and the beautiful pool were just two great highlights of this rental. We will certainly be renting this home again! So sad the trip is over.
Hi Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful home and we hope to have you again next year!
We love the location just one block from the private beach Access, the house was perfect for our large family of 14, with private pool and spa. The bar and covered porch at the pool area was a great hang out fir snacks and cocktails. Bike riding in the area is perfect and the public park, playgrounds and tennis facility just a short bike ride away. Love HHI, loved 13 Moonshell drive during our stay.
Hi Melinda, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you all again soon!
We have had many wonderful vacations at HHI but this house offered one of the best for entire family of adult kids who are not easy to please. The easy walk to beach, gorgeous backyard and separate sleeping areas made for comfortable stay. Free golf and mini golf each day was a big plus we took advantage of also. Shannon and Ashton were very helpful in office. Dog friendly restaurants were easy at the Black Marlin, Red Fish, and Skull Creek Boathouse all of which serve great seafood. We would definitely rent here again and highly recommend.
Hi Deborah, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at beautiful 13 Moonshell Road! We strive to provide excellent customer service so we're delighted to hear that Shannon and Ashten were helpful during your stay. It was a pleasure having you and your'e family and we'd love to have you again for your next trip to HHI!
We had a few disappointing things such as pool/spa needed cleaned or wasn't heated like we had requested and the home needed a good spring cleaning. The cleaning company needs to be assessed. Lots of cobwebs on outdoor furniture and floors needed cleaned.. Otherwise it was a very nice home and great location to the beach... Great for 2 families with kids....
Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us your feedback. We do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and appreciate your patience. We did contact the pool company to come out and heat the pool immediately after that was brought to our attention. Also, the entire patio area has been taken care of since your departure. As you said these things are a little disappointing but overall the property itself is beautiful and in a great location. We do hope to have you again soon and remember you are now a repeat renter for life and are entitled to a discount on your future stays with us!
We stayed with 10 people including 3 children and two small dogs. We had a great stay. Beach is just right down the street and the pool out back was great. Sometimes the pool crew forgets to turn off the water so watch out for that LOL. I would definitely stay here again.
Hi Dennis and Robin, Thank you so much for leaving us a review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We'll definitely inform the pool company of this and we hope you have you guys again soon!
We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The location was perfect, and the walk to the beach was simple for everyone. The house was very well kept. I would say the only thing we were in need of to accommodate everyone was more towels and spare sets of sheets for the pull-out couch and trundle twin bed. However - would definitely recommend this property to others, and hope to return again!
Hi Ashley, Thank you for leaving us a review. We're pleased to heard that you enjoyed your stay at this property we appreciate your feedback and we do hope to host you again in the future!
We had a wonderful time in Hilton Head. The house and location were perfect. The only downside was the issue with the spa but that was corrected through very helpful staff at the rental company. Unfortunately, due to a family emergency at home we had to cut our trip short but I would definitely rent this property again!
Hi Charles, We're sorry that your trip was interrupted but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the home! Our staff is always happy to help and we hope to have you again soon and remember you are entitled to a discount on your next stay for being a repeat renter.
Awesome Home, very clean, short walk to the beach, quiet neighborhood. Excellent vacation home for our family.
Hi Debra, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed this lovely home and we hope to host you again soon!
Great home for a multi-family vacation. Very clean home in a quiet neighborhood. Much closer to the ocean path than expected. Beautiful pool with gated backyard. Strongly recommend to others!
Melissa, Thank you for your awesome feedback. It was a pleasure working with you and we are happy that you enjoyed the home. We hope to have you again next year!
It was very pleasant.
Hi Rhonda, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you again next year! As a repeat renter you will receive a loyalty discount every time you stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.